The toolkit

Tools for running a better business

Software and tools for UK sole traders and small businesses, with real prices and the date we found them. We start with Making Tax Digital, which reaches sole traders with qualifying income over £30,000 from 6 April 2027.

Start with the guide

Start here

Best Making Tax Digital software for UK sole traders (2026)

Making Tax Digital for Income Tax reaches sole traders with qualifying income over £30,000 from 6 April 2027, and over £20,000 from 6 April 2028 (GOV.UK). Seven HMRC-recognised options compared, with prices as of 21 October 2026.

See the comparison →

Coming next

More honest tool guides

One careful page at a time: banking, invoicing, email and the simple tech stack a one-person business actually needs. Each with real UK prices and the date.

Want to hear when they land? Use the sign-up box below.

Making Tax Digital software

The seven HMRC-recognised options from our comparison. Prices as of 21 October 2026.

Making Tax Digital

FreeAgent

Price per month: £19 + VAT (50% off for the first 6 months)

Free tier: Yes, if you bank with NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle

Who it suits: Sole traders who want full accounting software, especially NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle customers

Read more in the comparison · FreeAgent pricing

Making Tax Digital

Xero

Price per month: £18 + VAT (Ignite plan; 90% off for the first 6 months)

Free tier: No free plan

Who it suits: Businesses that expect to grow, register for VAT or take on staff

Read more in the comparison · Xero pricing

Making Tax Digital

QuickBooks

Price per month: £10 (Sole Trader Plus; 90% off for the first 6 months. Whether VAT is added was not stated on the page we read)

Free tier: No free plan (30-day free trial)

Who it suits: Sole traders who want a well-known, app-based package at a low monthly price

Read more in the comparison · QuickBooks pricing

Making Tax Digital

Sage Sole Trader

Price per month: £0 or £7 + VAT (Free plan; paid plan 90% off for the first 6 months)

Free tier: Yes, for sole traders who aren’t VAT-registered

Who it suits: Non-VAT-registered sole traders with a simple, low-volume business

Read more in the comparison · Sage Sole Trader pricing

Making Tax Digital

Coconut

Price per month: £21.99, or £129.99 a year (MTD filing plan; about £10.83 a month if paid yearly. Whether VAT is added was not stated on the page we read)

Free tier: 14-day free trial; up to 2 years free with a new Zempler bank account

Who it suits: Sole traders and landlords who want something made just for them, not for all businesses

Read more in the comparison · Coconut pricing

Making Tax Digital

Pandle

Price per month: £0 or £5 + VAT (Free plan; Pro adds bank feeds)

Free tier: Yes, and MTD Income Tax submissions are included

Who it suits: Anyone who wants genuinely free software and doesn’t mind typing in or importing transactions

Read more in the comparison · Pandle pricing

Making Tax Digital

Clear Books

Price per month: £0 (MTD Free plan; paid plans from £5 a month)

Free tier: Yes, free for good with no transaction limits

Who it suits: Sole traders and landlords who want free, simple MTD and don’t need VAT or payroll

Read more in the comparison · Clear Books pricing